Australian, OwnVoices, YA

#ReadAsianOz and #ReadMuslimOz

So, two new posters of Australian book recommendations, designed by Jesssica Harvie, are now available on the LoveOzYA website!

#ReadAsianOz – I suggested such a poster promoting Asian-Australian stories, after sharing the Indigenous Australian stories poster and seeing how popular it was. I’m so grateful this will make it easier for me to recommend some of my favourite Asian-Australian books – especially Preloved and Little Paradise, which deserve a lot more attention and were the first books with Chinese-Australian protagonists that I’d ever read.

Definitely also check out Pencilled In, an amazing literary mag showcasing art and writing by young Asian-Australians; and their ‘suggested reading’ page here.

Below are links to a few of my reviews/recommendation posts for the books on the #ReadAsianOz poster:

The Family Law by Benjamin Law – mini-review on Goodreads

Freedom Swimmer by Wai Chim – review

The Astrologer’s Daughter by Rebecca Lim – recommendation post

Little Paradise by Gabrielle Wang – review

Preloved by Shirley Marr – review and personal reflction

#ReadMuslimOz – the poster below was based on an original conception by Danielle Binks.

My review of Where the Streets Had a Name by Randa Abdel-Fattah, one of my new favourites, is here; and having recently finished Does My Head Look Big in This? (which was FANTASTIC) I’ll have a review of that up soon, too!

Thanks so much, Danielle and Jessica!

Leave a Reply

