Updates

July TBR and Writing Plans

Everyone, I’m back! 😀 The past month has just been study, study, study for me – it’s good to be free from it (for now). I’m still pretty tired and recovering, so will be getting back into things slowly, but here are my writing/reading plans for this month.

 

TBR: July

High Priority
  • The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig – I started this in May for #AsianLitBingo and didn’t get through the whole thing, but I was really enjoying the writing and setting (historical Hawaii), so will aim to finish it in the next few days.
  • Ballad for a Mad Girl by Vikki Wakefield, Marsh and Me by Martine Murray, and God Smites and Other Muslim Girl Problems by Ishara Deen – all of these are review books that have been sitting around for way too long!
  • A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara – this is my friend’s favourite book, and after listening to a podcast of Yanagihara’s closing address from SWF 2016 (link), I’d really like to start on this!
Other books I’d like to get to
  • Nora and Kettle by Lauren Nicolle Taylor – ordered this book recently and it sounds incredible (Peter Pan-inspired, linked in with the Japanese-American internment during WW2).
  • The Hate Race by Maxine Beneba Clarke – I’ve kept meaning to read this after borrowing it from Glaiza back in January.

Writing Plans

  • A few commissioned blog posts over the next week
  • Continuing to work on a short story I got partway through earlier this year – historical fiction about the Immigration Restriction Act, family relationships, and identity. Lots of rethinking and reworking ahead, but I’m looking forward to finishing it 🙂
  • Potentially starting another short story that’s surrealist/magical realism and draws on Chinese folklore about the moon
  • Various editing work for uni/other publications

Misc

  • This doesn’t come out where I am until the end of July, but I’m looking forward to finally seeing the film adaptation of A Monster Calls
  • #YAFanFest on July 20th – looking forward to seeing friends and authors there!
Have you read any of the above books before? How was June for you? What are your plans for July?
2 thoughts on “July TBR and Writing Plans”

  1. I hope you’ve been able to keep up with reading all those books! I have heard such good things about The Girl From Everywhere, and I am really keen to read it. I still have an eARC from Net Galley *hides in shame*

    I love the sound of your two short stories! I wrote a short story about a week ago and it was really fun to get it down 😀 I hope you were able to finish yours or are close to finishing them ^.^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Chiara! I really enjoyed The Girl from Everywhere and have written a review, but it’s for a guest blogging thing on another website so I’m still not quite sure when it’ll be out. Yay, I’m glad about the short story you wrote! Still only just finished the first draft of the historical one, and it needs lots of work… but I’m getting there xD

      Like

Leave a Reply

